Home   |   About Bucks   |   Site Map     Twitter Facebook

2013 News

Commissioners Announce Formation of County Suicide Task Force

September 19, 2013

During the September 18 meeting of the Board of Bucks County Commissioners, Chairman Robert G. Loughery and Diane M. Ellis-Marseglia, LCSW, unanimously approved the formal commencement of the Bucks County Suicide Task Force. Commissioner Marseglia brought the matter to the public’s attention, noting that this new initiative will be assembled by the staff of the county Mental Health/Developmental Programs office.

According to Commissioner Marseglia, “The Suicide Task Force will cast a wide net for membership and must include professionals in private and public practice of mental health, clergy, educators, survivors, the Coroner’s office, funeral directors, medical professionals and emergency responders.”

While the Task Force will be structured to address ongoing needs of the community, a full report detailing its efforts, progress and future goals will be anticipated within the first three years. The goal of the Suicide Task Force is “to significantly reduce completed suicide in Bucks County by collaborating and completing actions designed to educate, prevent, respond to, and provide post-vention to suicide.”

For more information about the Suicide Task Force, please contact Commissioner Marseglia at 215-348-6425 or CommEllisMarseglia@co.bucks.pa.us.